Unit HomeAgenciesDeputy Commandant InformationInformation Workforce DivisionLeadership Development
Banner Icon



The Marine Corps Civilian Leadership Development Program (MCCLDP) follows a four-tiered approach to developing civilian leaders. The program stresses deliberate leader development through progressive education and training that aligns with the Department of Defense (DoD) Civilian Leader Development Continuum.

Tier I provides entry-level independent leadership development studies via online courses offered on MarineNet. These online courses are managed by Lejeune Leadership Institute (LLI), can be completed based on convenience, and are aligned to DoD leadership development competencies.  They can be found under the course catalog – professional development courses - Lejeune Leadership Institute (LLI) Development Courses. The courses available include  Leadership Essentials (Centrally Managed Course Prerequisites).

Tier II are local installation career leadership development training opportunities administered by Command Training Managers (CTM).  DC I opportunities will be posted on this website as they become available.

Tier III is seminar training developed by LLI. These three-day seminars stress key leadership development concepts. Students are provided relevant readings in preparation for daily sessions. During each session students explore various applications of leadership concepts through discussions, reflections, introspection-of-self, critical thinking, problem solving, and analytical skills. DC I opportunities will be posted on this website as they become available.

Tier IV consists of Centrally Managed Civilian Leadership Courses (CMCLC).  They are development programs for Civilian Marines starting at GS-5 through GS-15 and pay equivalents that are centrally funded by the Marine Corps. CMCLC are recognized leadership courses provided by OPM, DoD, DON, and prominent commercial institutions. These programs are open to all civilians in any pay system, as long as they meet the GS grade equivalency requirement.

Learn more about current Centrally Managed Civilian Leadership Courses (CMCLC). Programs vary regarding time away from the office and on-the-job assignments; and dates vary from year to year. To participate in the CMCLC applicants compete for Marine Corps quotas.

The following are the basic steps to enroll in the program:

1.LLI announces courses through the Civilian Leadership Development Administrators(CLDAs)

2.CLDAs will then distribute calls for nominations through the HQMC Training Coordinators

3.Applicants will complete and route packages through their Chain-of-Command to the HQMC CLDA

4.CLDA will route completed nomination packages to a HQMC selection board

5.Packages selected by the HQMC board will be forwarded to LLI by the CLDA

6.LLI will make the final selection(s) and applicants will be notified if selected or not

*ARHM administers the MCCLDP for Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps and coordinates local nominations for the CMCLC. For more information please contact the CMCLC Administrator by phone at (703) 614-9088 or by email at SMBHQMCCLDP@usmc.mil

Developmental Programs

The Department of the Navy invests significantly in their leaders of today and in growing their leaders for tomorrow. DON Leadership Development Programs are available to Department of the Navy personnel. These programs are grade specific and the courses vary in length of time. Additional information is available by accessing the program page at the links provided.


Defense Senior Leader Development Program (DSLDP)   GS-14 to GS-15

Executive Leadership Development Program (ELDP)  GS-12 to GS-14, O-3 to O-4 (Military)

Defense Civilian Emerging Leader Program (DCELP)  GS-7 to GS-12

Dwight D. Eisenhower School (ES)  GS-14 to GS-15

White House Leadership Development Program (WHLDP)  GS-15

Bridging the Gap Leadership Development Program (BTG)  GS-14 to GS-15

Federal Executive Institute (FEI) Leadership for a Democratic Society  GS-15

Capitol Hill Fellowship Program (CHFP)  GS-13 to GS-15, O-3 to O-5 (Military)

Executive Leadership Program (ELP)  GS-11 to GS-13

Presidential Management Council Interagency Rotation Program (PMC IRP)  GS-13 to GS-15


Tier III Leadership Course:

Sponsored by the Legeune Leadership Institute, critical element of the DoD Civilian Leader Development Continuum. Examine and appreciate Team Leader strengths of character and competence to lead others to achieve organizational goals and create a

working environment of trust and purpose

Lead Self

Dec 17-19


Email IWD team to get registered!

Open the calendar popup.